You are here

Welcome to Jury Duty

Jury Office: 1-800-222-8715
(PLEASE NOTE: This is an automated phone line you can use to obtain information regarding your jury service. If you need to speak with someone in the Jury Office, please follow the instructions to transfer your call to the Jury Office --- You will press "2." on your telephone at the first menu, and "4." on your telephone at the second menu. If we are not available to answer your call, please leave a message in our voicemail and we will return your call as soon as we can.)

Jury Fax Line: (205) 278-1771 

Jury Office Email:


Welcome to Jury Duty

You have been randomly selected as a prospective juror for the United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama.  Your service on a jury panel is an important civic function, and it supports one of the fundamental rights of individuals, the right to have the interests of justice reviewed and determined by fellow citizens.  We hope you will find jury service in this Court to be both an interesting and satisfying experience. 
It is the policy of this Court that all litigants entitled to trial by jury shall have the right to juries selected at random from a fair cross-section of the community in the Divisional Area wherein the Court convenes.  It also is a policy of this Court that all qualified citizens within the district shall have the opportunity to be considered for service on the juries of this Court, and shall have a corresponding obligation to serve as jurors when summoned for that purpose.  Further, no citizen shall be excluded from service as a grand or petit juror in this Court because of his or her race, color, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status.
The jurisdiction of the Northern District of Alabama includes four divisional jury areas composed of the following counties: 
Northern Divisional Area:  Colbert, Cullman, Franklin,  Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, and Morgan counties.
Eastern Divisional Area:  Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall, St. Clair, and Talladega counties.
Central Divisional Area:  Blount, Jefferson, and Shelby counties. 
Western Divisional Area:  Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Lamar, Marion, Pickens, Sumter, Tuscaloosa, Walker, and Winston counties. 
The names of persons to be considered for service as grand or petit jurors are randomly selected from official voter registration lists maintained by the State of Alabama or local election officials of the counties comprising the district for the most recent federal general election held in the fall of even-numbered years.  
If you encounter any problems or have questions throughout this process, please contact the Jury Helpdesk at (800) 222-8715.